Barua Insurance

Cheapest affordable insurance in callifornia

Call Today
(562) 273-3989

State requirements for all drivers in California

Drivers in California are normally required to obtain a license from their state of residence and all states recognize each other’s licenses for non-resident age requirements. A state may also suspend an individual’s driving privilege within its borders for traffic violations

  • Driver requirements 

As a condition of employment, drivers of university vehicles – or employees who drive personal vehicles on university business – are expected to obey all traffic laws and regulations and maintain a valid license in good standing. Accordingly, all citations and/or tickets including, but not limited to, those related to a driver’s license, failure to wear a seat belt, speeding, distracted driving, or DUI violations are the sole responsibility of the employee to either pay or successfully contest; the university assumes no obligation for any fines or fees. The employee’s department is responsible for “fix-it” related tickets on university vehicles only. 

  • Authorized drivers 

USC Risk Management must pre-approve all employees (including all categories of faculty, staff, student, or temporary employees), who drive university vehicles (owned, leased or rented). 

  • Seat belt requirement 

All drivers and passengers in university vehicles must wear their seat belts at all times and sit in designated seats while vehicle is moving; standing or riding in or on beds of vehicles is prohibited. 

  • Alcohol/drug testing 

All drivers must comply with the university’s USC Drug-Free policy, and may be subject to pre-employment/assignment testing as well as testing based on a reasonable suspension that an employee is, or has been impaired. 

  • Driver’s license loss or change of status 

Authorized drivers in California must immediately report a change in their driver’s license status to their manager and Risk Management. Authorized drivers are prohibited from driving a university vehicle if their license is revoked, suspended, expired or their driving privileges are otherwise restricted. 

  • Insurance information 

The university liability insurance program provides protection to authorized drivers of university vehicles. The university self-insures for collision, fire, theft and liability. All accidents involving USC vehicles must be reported immediately to employee’s manager and to Risk Management via their incident reporting portal

  • Personal use of university vehicles 

Personal use of university vehicles is prohibited, including but not limited to any activity not directly related to university business during, before or after work, or during breaks. This includes using vehicles to drive off-campus for breakfast, lunch or dinner, unless meal is directly related to university business. 

  • Use of personal vehicles for university business 

Personal vehicles to be used for driving on official university business must be insured for at least the California-required minimum limits of $15,000/$30,000 bodily injury, plus $5,000 property damage. The personal insurance policy cannot contain business use exclusion. The university has the right to require evidence of current automobile liability insurance coverage. 

Spread the love